Text Size:

Justice Potter Stewart Nominations

Who are your heroes who have fought for justice?

Nominate these champions in the local and federal justice system for the Council for Court Excellence's
Justice Potter Stewart Award!

Click here for the 2016 nomination form.

The Justice Potter Stewart Award is given annually to individuals who exemplify the very best in the administration of justice. Nominees should be an individual or organization whose contribution to the administration of justice, the legal system, or the administrative aspects of government in the Washington, DC metropolitan area has been significant and sustained. At the annual Justice Potter Stewart Award Dinner, we celebrate two (or, less frequently, three, or even just one) honorees.

The Council for Court Excellence presents the award at our annual fundraising Dinner.  Accordingly, the canons of judicial ethics preclude our making the award to any sitting judge.  As well, current CCE Board Directors are not eligible for this award.  

To view a list of those who have received the Justice Potter Stewart Award in previous years, please click here.

In addition to our online nomination process, we also welcome nominations submitted by letter addressed to:
Justice Stewart Award Selection Committee
Council for Court Excellence
1111 14th Street, NW, Suite 500
Washington, DC 20005

The acting chair of the Award Selection Committee is Paulette Chapman, Koonz, McKenney, Johnson, DePaolis & Lightfoot, L.L.P.

Copyright ©2011-2012 The Council for Court Excellence. All rights reserved.