Text Size:

Justice Potter Stewart Honorees

2023 - Avis E. Buchanan (Public Defender Service for the District of Columbia, Retired), PROJECT CHANGE (DMV-area Hospital Based Violence Intervention Programs), and Hon. Karl A. Racine (Hogan Lovells)

2022 - Benjamin F. Wilson (Beveridge & Diamond, P.C.), The Jerry M. v. District of Columbia Legal Team (ACLU National Prison Project, D.C. Public Defender Service, Covington & Burling LLP)

2021 - Patty Mullahy Fugere (Washington Legal Clinic for the Homeless), Kojo Nnamdi (The Kojo Nnamdi Show, WAMU/NPR), Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP and Wiley Rein LLP (D.C. Compassionate Release Project leaders)

2019 - Mark E. Herzog (Sidley Austin LLP). Pauline and Charlie Sullivan (CURE), Michele A. Roberts (National Basketball Players Association)

2018 - Dean Katherine S. Broderick (University of the District of Columbia David A. Clarke School of Law), Karen Baker Marcou (DC Volunteer Lawyers Project), Patrick McGlone (Ullico Inc.)

2017 - Grace E. Speights (Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP), Joseph B. Tulman (University of the District of Columbia David A. Clarke School of Law), and Lockheed Martin Corporation (Special 35th Anniversary Appreciation Award)

2016 - Sheldon Krantz (DC Affordable Law Firm), Tammy Seltzer (University Legal Services), and Thomas S. Williamson Jr. (Covington & Burling LLP)

2015 - Roger M. Adelman, Free Minds Book Club & Writing Workshop

2014 - Marc Fleischaker (Arent Fox, LLP), Legal Counsel for the Elderly, and Pepco

2013 - William J. Garber (solo law practice), Jessica T. Rosenbaum (District of Columbia Access to Justice Commission), and James J. Sandman (Legal Services Corporation)

2012 - James L. Lyons, Kellogg Williams & Lyons, and John C. Keeney, Jr., Legal Aid Society of the District of Columbia

2011 - Peter Edelman, Georgetown University Law School and DC Access to Justice Commission; Donald Santarelli, Dinsmore & Shohl LLP; and posthumously to Mary Ann Luby, passionate advocate for justice .

2010 - Pauline Schneider of Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe, and Rainey Ransom Brandt, Special Counsel to the Chief Judge of the DC Superior Court.

2009 - Earl Silbert, DLA Piper (US), and Commander Lillian Overton, DC Metropolitan Police Department.

2008 - John Payton, NAACP Legal Defense & Educational Fund, and Maureen Thornton Syracuse, DC Bar Pro Bono Program.

2007 - Roderick Boggs, Executive Director of the Washington Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights and Urban Affairs, and GEICO.

2006 - Steven Pollak, of Goodwin Procter, and Legal Aid Society of DC and its Executive Director Jonathan Smith.

2005 - Daniel Rezneck, former president of the DC Bar and former partner at Arnold & Porter, and the Visitors' Services Center and its Executive Director Ann Keep.

2004 - Lloyd Cutler, Wilmer, Cutler and Pickering LLP, and Women Empowered Against Violence "WEAVE", Executive Director Lydia Watts.

2003 - Willie Cook, retired Executive Director of DC's Neighborhood Legal Services Program, and Alan Morrison, Co-founder and Director of Public Citizen Litigation Group.

2002 - Herbert J. "Jack" Miller, Baker Botts, and Samuel F. Harahan, founding Executive Director of the Council for Court Excellence.

2001 - Judith L. Lichtman, President of National Partnership for Women and Families, Archdiocesan Legal Network of Catholic Charities, and posthumously to Charles F. C. Ruff.

2000 - E. Barrett Prettyman, Jr., of Hogan and Hartson, and DC Superior Court's Drug Court Program.

1999 - John H. Pickering, of Wilmer, Cutler & Pickering, and Operation Crackdown.

1998 - Jacob A. Stein, of Stein, Mitchell and Mezines, and Dr. Cheryl Bailey, of the District of Columbia Courts.

1997 - Charles A. Horsky, and Charles McC. Mathias, the two Presidents Emeriti of the Council for Court Excellence.

Copyright ©2011-2012 The Council for Court Excellence. All rights reserved.