Text Size:

Justice Potter Stewart Award Dinner 2024


     27th Annual Justice Potter Stewart Award Dinner


Thursday, May 30, 2024                                        
6:00 PM Reception                                                              
7:00 PM Dinner & Award Presentation          

Location: Organization of American States
17th Street and Constitution Ave., NW
Washington, D.C. 20006-4499



Janene D. Jackson, Partner, Public Policy & Regulation Group at Holland & Knight  

Janene Jackson is a partner in Holland & Knight's Public Policy & Regulation Group. Ms. Jackson focuses her practice on local government navigation, legislative and regulatory counseling and D.C. municipal law. Immediately prior to joining Holland & Knight, Ms. Jackson served as the deputy chief of staff and director of the Office of Policy and Legislative Affairs in the administration of Mayor Vincent Gray. In this position, Ms. Jackson was responsible for the regional, federal and local relationships for the mayor as well as lobbying the Council of the District of Columbia and Congress. Ms. Jackson's public policy work includes serving as the executive director of the State Complaint Office of the District of Columbia Public Schools and conducting investigations against local education agencies alleged to have violated the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act. As a direct result of her work, the District of Columbia Public Schools moved from noncompliance status to compliance status with the U.S. Department of Education.


 Wallace J. Mlyniec, Lupo-Ricci Professor of Clinical Legal Studies at Georgetown Law and Senior Counsel of the Juvenile Justice Clinic

Wallace Mlyniec is Lupo Ricci Professor of Clinical Legal Studies and founding director and now Senior Counsel of the Juvenile Justice Clinic at Georgetown University Law Center. A pioneer of clinical legal education and a national expert on juvenile justice, Professor Mlyniec joined the Georgetown faculty in 1973 and was Associate Dean for Clinical Programs from 1989 until 2005. In addition to his clinical work, he assists with the training of fellows in the Prettyman Graduate Fellowship Program and has taught courses in Family Law, Juvenile Delinquency Law, and Wrongful Convictions. He has also been a Distinguished Visiting Scholar in Pediatric Law at Loyola University Law School’s ChildLaw Program and a recipient of a Bicentennial Fellowship from the Swedish government to study their child welfare system.  


Judith Sandalow, Executive Director at Children's Law Center

Judith Sandalow has led Children’s Law Center as its Executive Director since January 2000. Under her leadership, the organization has grown from a staff of three to more than 100 attorneys, social workers, investigators and other professionals -- advocating so that every child has a strong foundation of family, health and education. Together with the assistance of hundreds of pro bono attorneys from dozens of area law firms, Children’s Law Center now reaches more than 5,000 children and families in the District each year. Judith’s commitment to the District’s children began early in her career when she was a Juvenile Justice Fellow at Georgetown University Law Center. Then, after starting a juvenile clinic at DC Law Students in Court, she developed a successful criminal defense practice specializing in representation of juveniles charged with serious crimes. During her career, she has represented hundreds of children. 

  ♦ ♦ ♦

Ready to become a sponsor? Click Here!  

Individual ticket sales will be available later in Spring 2024.

Details about sponsorships are available HERE, or you may email Sarah Baczewski or call (202) 785-5917 ext. 102 with questions or to secure your 2024 sponsorship. 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

 Thank you to our 2024 Sponsors! 

Chair's Circle

Justice Guardian  



 Justice Leader

Akin ♦ Alvarez & Marsal ♦ Baker Botts LLP ♦ Blank Rome LLP 

Founders Bank ♦ Hall, Render, Killian, Heath & Lyman, P.C.

 Jackson & Campbell, P.C. ♦ Jones Day ♦ The Morrison & Foerster Foundation

 Thorn & Sharis Pozen ♦ Regan Zambri Long PLLC



Justice Patron

Allyson Baker ♦ JAMS ♦ Webster & Fredrickson, PLLC



Justice Advocate  

Banner Witcoff ♦ Kropf Moseley PLLC

Paul Lee ♦ Tzedek DC 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

 About the Justice Potter Stewart Award ♦ Past Award Recipients 

Copyright ©2011-2012 The Council for Court Excellence. All rights reserved.