Text Size:

Justice Potter Stewart Awards 2024


27th Annual Justice Potter Stewart Award Dinner


Thursday, May 30, 2024                                        
6:00 PM Reception                                                              
7:00 PM Dinner & Award Presentation          

Organization of American States
17th Street and Constitution Ave., NW
Washington, D.C. 20006-4499


Janene D. Jackson, Partner, Public Policy & Regulation Group at Holland & Knight  

Janene Jackson is a partner in Holland & Knight's Public Policy & Regulation Group. Ms. Jackson focuses her practice on local government navigation, legislative and regulatory counseling and D.C. municipal law. Immediately prior to joining Holland & Knight, Ms. Jackson served as the deputy chief of staff and director of the Office of Policy and Legislative Affairs in the administration of Mayor Vincent Gray. In this position, Ms. Jackson was responsible for the regional, federal and local relationships for the mayor as well as lobbying the Council of the District of Columbia and Congress. Ms. Jackson's public policy work includes serving as the executive director of the State Complaint Office of the District of Columbia Public Schools and conducting investigations against local education agencies alleged to have violated the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act. As a direct result of her work, the District of Columbia Public Schools moved from noncompliance status to compliance status with the U.S. Department of Education.

 Wallace J. Mlyniec, Lupo-Ricci Professor of Clinical Legal Studies at Georgetown Law and Senior Counsel of the Juvenile Justice Clinic

Wallace Mlyniec is Lupo Ricci Professor of Clinical Legal Studies and founding director and now Senior Counsel of the Juvenile Justice Clinic at Georgetown University Law Center. A pioneer of clinical legal education and a national expert on juvenile justice, Professor Mlyniec joined the Georgetown faculty in 1973 and was Associate Dean for Clinical Programs from 1989 until 2005. In addition to his clinical work, he assists with the training of fellows in the Prettyman Graduate Fellowship Program and has taught courses in Family Law, Juvenile Delinquency Law, and Wrongful Convictions. He has also been a Distinguished Visiting Scholar in Pediatric Law at Loyola University Law School’s ChildLaw Program and a recipient of a Bicentennial Fellowship from the Swedish government to study their child welfare system.  

Judith Sandalow, Executive Director at Children's Law Center

Judith Sandalow has led Children’s Law Center as its Executive Director since January 2000. Under her leadership, the organization has grown from a staff of three to more than 100 attorneys, social workers, investigators and other professionals -- advocating so that every child has a strong foundation of family, health and education. Together with the assistance of hundreds of pro bono attorneys from dozens of area law firms, Children’s Law Center now reaches more than 5,000 children and families in the District each year. Judith’s commitment to the District’s children began early in her career when she was a Juvenile Justice Fellow at Georgetown University Law Center. Then, after starting a juvenile clinic at DC Law Students in Court, she developed a successful criminal defense practice specializing in representation of juveniles charged with serious crimes. During her career, she has represented hundreds of children. 

  ♦ ♦ ♦

Ready to become a sponsor? Click Here!  

Tickets available now. Click Here!

Details about sponsorships are available HERE, or you may email Sarah Baczewski or call (202) 785-5917 ext. 102 with questions or to secure your 2024 sponsorship. 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

 Thank you to our 2024 Sponsors! 

Justice Guardian  



Janene D. Jackson Esq.




 Justice Leader

Akin ♦ Alvarez & Marsal ♦ Arnold & Porter 

Baker Botts LLP ♦ Blank Rome LLP    

Boies Schiller Flexner LLP ♦ Jay Brozost ♦ Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner LLP 

 The Cochran Firm ♦ Cooley LLP ♦ DC Bankers Association 

Epstein Becker Green ♦ Eversheds Sutherland (US) LLP 

Fort Lincoln New Town Corporation ♦ Founders Bank ♦ Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP 

Hall, Render, Killian, Heath & Lyman, P.C. ♦ Husch Blackwell   

Jackson & Campbell, P.C. ♦ Jones Day ♦ Koonz McKenney 

LINK Strategic Partners ♦ Patrick McGlone & Kevin Taylor ♦  Monumental Sports & Entertainment 

Morrison & Foerster LLP ♦ Paul Hastings, LLP

Perkins Coie LLP ♦ Thorn & Sharis Pozen 

Regan Zambri Long PLLC ♦ Sidley Austin LLP ♦ The Washington Post

WimerHale ♦ Zuckerman Spaeder LLP


Justice Patron

Ankura ♦ Allyson Baker ♦ Baker Donelson ♦ Shelley Broderick

Comcast ♦ The Concordia Group ♦  Davis Wright Tremaine LLP

Dinsmore & Shohl ♦ DLA Piper US ♦ Dykema Gossett PLLC 

Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP  ♦ Galena Yorktown Foundation

Georgetown Law ♦ Grant Thornton ♦ Groom Law Group ♦ JAMS   

Kolker Law Firm ♦ Lee/Shoemaker PLLC ♦ Creighton R. Magid   

Nelson Mullins ♦ Alex Orfinger ♦ Paulson & Nace, PLLC ♦ Potomac Legal Group PLLC

Redbrick LMD  Robinson & Cole LLP ♦ James Sandman

UDC David A. Clarke School of Law ♦ Webster & Fredrickson, PLLC ♦ Melissa Wiley


Justice Advocate  

Banner Witcoff ♦ Cushman & Wakefield ♦ Eduardo Ferrer

Kristin Henning ♦ Ellen Jakovic

Kirkland & Ellis LLP ♦ June Kress ♦ Kropf Moseley PLLC

Paul Lee ♦ Fritz Mulhauser ♦ William C.E. Robinson  

Tzedek DC ♦ Jason Wright ♦ Joanne Zimolzak

♦ ♦ ♦ 

 About the Justice Potter Stewart Award ♦ Past Award Recipients 

Copyright ©2011-2012 The Council for Court Excellence. All rights reserved.