Text Size:

School Jury Education Program Celebration

On Monday, June 30th CCE Vice President Pat McGlone and Kevin Taylor hosted a celebration in honor of CCE's School Jury Education Program.  For 20 years, CCE has visited DC high school classrooms to train tomorrow’s jurors about our jury system.  The Council brings our video of a mock trial and asks the students to become the jury and try to reach a unanimous verdict in the case. CCE brings a judge with us to each class, to preside over the lesson, guide the students through the jury deliberation, and answer their questions about jury service – or anything else. The video lesson works equally well with adult groups in the community, and CCE has also used it successfully with students as young as middle school.

During the 2013-2014 school year ten judges, three attorneys, and two court administrators participated in the SJEP at 16 local DC public and charter schools with over 250 students participating in total.  Thank you to Judge Mary Ellen Abrecht, Jay Brozost, Angela Caesar, Judge Karen Howze, Judge Amy Jackson, Judge Rufus King, Judge Neal Kravitz, Lynn Mattucci, Patrick McGlone, Judge Robert Okun, Betsy Paret, Chief Judge Richard Roberts, Judge Gretchen Rohr, Judge Emmet Sullivan and Judge Frederick Sullivan for participating in the SJEP this year.

CCE would like to thank Pat and Kevin for their hospitality and Events by Kevin Taylor for a lovely event.  If you are interested in the SJEP during the 2014-2015 school year please contact Hillary Evans at or (202) 785-5917.

Copyright ©2011-2012 The Council for Court Excellence. All rights reserved.