Text Size:

Justice Potter Stewart Award Dinner 2021

CCE is now accepting 2022 Justice Potter Stewart Award Nominations. Submit your nomination here


24th Annual Justice Potter Stewart Award Virtual Gala

5 pm - Exclusive Pre-Reception ♦  5:30-6:30 pm - Virtual Program & Awards Presentation
Watch the recording of event


  Patty Mullahy Fugere, Washington Legal Clinic for the Homeless 

 Patricia Mullahy Fugere has been a leader in addressing affordable housing and homelessness issues in D.C. since 1980. She is one of the co-founders, and since 1991 has served as the executive director, of the Washington Legal Clinic for the Homeless. Patty shares the Legal Clinic's vision of D.C. as a just and inclusive community, where housing is a human right and all residents have access to the resources they need to thrive. She works with the Legal Clinic's extraordinary staff to ensure that the wisdom and voices of those who experience homelessness or severe housing insecurity are a part of the conversations that impact their lives. She has served on the DC Access to Justice Commission and chairs the Board of Directors of NETWORK Lobby for Catholic Social Justice. Additionally, she was co-founder of DC Fair Budget Coalition and served on the governing or advisory boards of the Homeless Children's Playtime Project, the National Center for Housing and Child Welfare, and the DC Fiscal Policy Institute.

 Kojo Nnamdi, The Kojo Nnamdi Show, WAMU/NPR

Kojo Nnamdi is the host of the Kojo Nnamdi Show and The Politics Hour on WAMU 88.5, Washington's NPR station. The show has been at the center of critical conversations about society, community, race, housing, education, politics, and the arts in D.C. for more than 20 years. Kojo is known for creating a space for thoughtful and productive dialogue, whether with ordinary citizens or polished politicians. A native of Guyana, Nnamdi emigrated to the United States in 1968 to attend college and explore the civil rights movement. After college, Kojo began his career in media and broadcast. He has served as news editor and news director for WHUR-FM's The Daily Drum, as well as the host of Evening Exchange, a television program by WHUT-TV at Howard University. Kojo Nnamdi is one of the leading educators on justice-related issues in the District of Columbia, using his platform to facilitate important discussions about both civil and criminal legal topics affecting D.C and beyond. After 23 years delivering news, context and insight to the D.C. region, The Kojo Nnamdi Show will air its final episode on April 1, 2021.

Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP and Wiley Rein  LLP, D.C. Compassionate Release Project leaders

In April 2020, D.C. enacted an emergency “compassionate release” law allowing incarcerated residents to apply for release due to illness, disability, or age. The statute was designed to help address the increased risks of exposure to and the spread of COVID-19 in jails and prisons. Recognizing the urgency of this effort, a small coalition quickly came together to collect and screen compassionate release applications, to provide training and resources, and to recruit lawyers to take D.C. compassionate release cases. Although hundreds of lawyers in our community have since taken individual cases, lawyers in the D.C. offices of law firms Akin Gump and Wiley quickly stepped up as leaders in this coalition effort and dove in to screen the hundreds of  representation requests that flooded in. Among these firms’ many other significant and impactful pro bono efforts in 2020, lawyers and legal assistants at Akin Gump and Wiley have been committed to seeing D.C.’s compassionate release law succeed and for vulnerable incarcerated individuals to have counsel amid the pandemic.

Thank You to Our 2021 Sponsors!

Chair's Circle


Justice Champion

Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP ♦ Arent Fox LLP
Arnold & Porter LLP ♦ Lockheed Martin Corporation
Ullico Inc. ♦ Venable LLP ♦ Wiley Rein LLP

Justice Leader
Boies Schiller Flexner LLP ♦ Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner LLP
Davis Wright Tremaine LLP ♦ GEICO 
Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP ♦ Jackson & Campbell, P.C.
PNC Bank ♦ The Washington Post ♦ Zuckerman Spaeder LLP

Justice Benefactor
Dinsmore & Shohl LLP ♦ Jones Day
M&T Bank / Wilmington Trust ♦ Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP
Regan Zambri Long, PLLC ♦ Steptoe & Johnson LLP
Thorn and Sharis Pozen ♦ White & Case LLP
WilmerHale ♦ Winston & Strawn LLP

Justice Patron
Benjy Consulting LLC ♦ Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney PC ♦ Cohen Milstein Sellers & Toll PLLC
DLA Piper ♦ David E. Rogers Dentons
Dykema Gossett PLLC Feldesman Tucker Leifer Fidell LLP
Hogan Lovells US LLP ♦ Irvin B. Nathan ♦ James E. Rocap III
James J. Sandman ♦ James P. Tuite ♦ John R. Jacob ♦ Karen Baker Marcou
Monumental Sports & Entertainment ♦ Schrayer-Schwaber Family Charitable Fund
Stein Mitchell Beato & Missner LLP ♦ UDC David A. Clarke School of Law  

Justice Advocate
Ballard Spahr LLP Carol Elder Bruce ♦ Daniel I. Wolf
Hon. Diane Brenneman (Ret.) ♦ Ellen M. Jakovic ♦ Joanne Zimolzak ♦ Johnnie D. Bond Jr.
June Kress ♦ Kathy and Dan Clark ♦ Kirkland & Ellis LLP
Law Office of Andrew Marks ♦ Michael Hays ♦ Miller & Chevalier Chartered
Paulette E. Chapman ♦ Peter B. Edelman ♦ The Cochran Firm
Tzedek DC ♦ Webster & Fredrickson PLLC 


Sponsor the dinner or purchase tickets today!

♦ ♦ ♦ 

Details about sponsorships are available HERE, or you may email Faith Hudson or call 202.785.5917 with questions or to secure your 2021 sponsorship.

 About the Justice Potter Stewart Award ♦  Past Award Recipients


Copyright ©2011-2012 The Council for Court Excellence. All rights reserved.