Text Size:

2018 Justice Potter Stewart Awards Dinner

The 22nd Annual Justice Potter Stewart Award Dinner was a success!

On May 22, 2018, over 250 guests joined the Council for Court Excellence at the Organization of the American States in celebrating the accomplishments of three outstanding local advocates at the 22nd Annual Justice Potter Stewart Award Dinner.  This year’s honorees included Patrick McGlone of Ullico Inc., Karen Barker Marcou of the DC Volunteer Lawyers Project, and Katherine S. Broderick of the University of the District of Columbia David A. Clarke School of Law. A special award presentation was given by Congressman Jamie Raskin of Maryland’s 8th Congressional District in the U.S. House of Representatives to his former law student, Karen Barker Marcou.  CCE’s Board Chair, the Honorable Sven Holmes, and Board President, Irv Nathan, welcomed attendees and recognized the distinguished honorees. 

Thank you to all of our generous supporters!


CCE is incredibly grateful to the 2018 Justice Potter Stewart Award Dinner Sponsors:

Chair’s Circle



President’s Circle

Ulllico Inc.


Justice Champions

Arent Fox LLP

Arnold & Porter LLP

Venable LLP

Williams & Connolly LLP


Justice Leaders 

Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP

Baker & Hostetler LLP

The Barker and Marcou Families

Boies, Schiller & Flexner LLP

Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner LLP

DLA Piper LLP (US)

Eversheds Sutherland (US) LLP


Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP

Hogan Lovells US LLP

Jackson & Campbell, P.C./PNC Bank, NA

Lockheed Martin Corporation

Mayer Brown LLP

Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP

Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP

The Sidley Austin Foundation

UDC David A. Clarke School of Law


Zuckerman Spaeder LLP


Justice Benefactors 

Alvarez & Marsal

Baker Botts LLP

Dentons US LLP

Dinsmore & Shohl LLP

Goldblatt Martin Pozen LLP

Koonz, McKenney, Johnson, DePaolis & Lightfoot, L.L.P.

The Morrison & Foerster Foundation

Regan Zambri Long, PLLC

Reed Smith LLP

The Washington Post


Justice Patrons

Benjy Consulting LLC

Cohen Mistein Sellers & Toll PLLC

Davis Wright Tremaine LLP

Feldesman Tucker Leifer Fidell LLP

Firm Advice, Inc.

Andrew Marks and Susan Esserman

Miller & Chevalier Chartered

James J. Sandman

Webster & Frederickson, PLLC

White and Case LLP


Justice Advocates 

Banner & Witcoff, Ltd.

Carol Elder Bruce

The Cochran Firm | Karen E. Evans

Cooley LLP

Hon. Sven E. Holmes (Ret.)

James H. Hulme

Ellen M. Jakovic

Katz, Marshall & Banks, LLP

Kirkland & Ellis LLP

June B. Kress

Fritz Mulhauser

Proskauer Rose LLP

Danny Reed

Savit & Szymkowicz, LLP

Schertler & Onorato, LLP

Jack E. Strausman

James P. Tuite

UBS Financial Services, Inc.

Copyright ©2011-2012 The Council for Court Excellence. All rights reserved.