Text Size:

Justice Potter Stewart Award Dinner 2022


We are now accepting nominations for our 26th Annual
Justice Potter Stewart Award.
HERE to submit your nomination.  


25th Annual Justice Potter Stewart Award Dinner

Wednesday, May 25, 2022

Thank you again for supporting or attending CCE’s Justice Potter Stewart Award Dinner last month. We were so happy to come together in-person (at long last!) on the 25th Anniversary of these awards and the Council for Court Excellence’s 40th Anniversary.

You can check out photos from the event, or watch the evening’s moving remarks. 

Thank you to our 2022 Sponsors!

President's Circle


Justice Guardian




Justice Leader

Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
 ♦ APCO Worldwide

Assocation of Corporate Counsel ♦ Beveridge & Diamond

Boies Schiller Flexner LLP ♦ The Brokell Foundation

Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner LLP ♦ Davis Wright Tremaine LLP

Epstein Becker & Green, P.C. ♦ Eversheds Sutherland (US) LLP ♦ GEICO

Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP ♦ Hogan Lovells US LLP

Patrick McGlone & Kevin Taylor ♦ Monumental Sports & Entertainment 

Morgan Lewis ♦ Perkins Coie LLP ♦ PPC-Leftwich, LLP ♦ Thorn & Sharis Pozen

Washington Gas ♦ The Washington Post ♦ Zuckerman Spaeder

Justice Benefactor

Baker Botts LLP ♦ Dinsmore & Shohl LLP ♦ Dykema

Pillsbury Wintrhop Shaw Pittman LLP ♦ Reed Smith LLP

Galena Yorktown Foundation ♦ Regan Zambri Long PLLC

Webster & Fredrickson PLLC


Justice Patron

Ballard Spahr LLP ♦ Shelley Broderick ♦ The Cochran Firm

Environmental Law Institute ♦ Feldesman Tucker Leifer Fidell LLP

Ellen Jakovic ♦ Grant Thornton LLP ♦ JAMS ♦ KaiserDillon PLLC

Kirkland & Ellis LLP ♦ Koonz McKenney Johnson & DePaolis LLP

Miller & Chevalier Chartered ♦ Jim Sandman

Schertler Onorato Mead & Sears LLP ♦ Robert Spagnoletti

Stein Mitchell Beato & Missner LLP ♦ UDC David A. Clarke School of Law

Washington Bar Association, Inc.

Justice Advocate

Abigail Blomstrom ♦ Paulette Chapman ♦ Peter Edelman ♦ Amy Fettig 

Maryam and Dominique Hatcher ♦ Michael Hay ♦ Dr. June Kress

Paul Lee ♦ Fritz Mulhauser ♦ Stein Sterling ♦ Tzedek DC ♦ Joanne Zimolzak  

♦ ♦ ♦


Benjamin F. Wilson, Beveridge & Diamond, P.C.

Benjamin F. Wilson retired in January 2022 as the Chairman of Beveridge & Diamond, P.C., a top-ranked law firm focused on environmental and natural resource law and litigation. During his distinguished legal career, he represented major corporations, developers, and municipalities in complex litigation matters involving Clean Water Act enforcement, wetlands development, Superfund and environmental justice matters.  He has served as Chairman of the Environmental Law Institute since 2016 and has been on the Board of several corporations and organizations. In service to the District of Columbia, Mr. Wilson currently serves on the Judicial Nomination Commission for the District of Columbia and previously sat on the Board of Governors of the District of Columbia Bar. Mr. Wilson is also an Adjunct Professor in Environmental Law at the Howard University School of Law. A tireless advocate for diversity and inclusion in the legal profession, Mr. Wilson was inducted into the Washington Bar Association’s Hall of Fame, awarded the Cora T. Walker Award from the National Bar Association Commercial Law Section, and featured in the National Law Journal’s cover story "The Vanguard and the Vision." He founded and leads the African American General Counsel and Managing Partner Networks and Diverse Partners Network.

The Jerry M. v. District of Columbia Legal Team, ACLU National Prison Project, D.C. Public Defender Service, and Covington & Burling LLP

Jerry M. v. District of Columbia was a decades-long and ultimately transformative class action lawsuit filed in D.C. Superior Court on behalf of children in the District’s juvenile detention facilities. The case began in 1985, and when a settlement ended court oversight in 2020, Jerry M. was the oldest pending lawsuit against the District. Advocates successfully fought to improve a wide range of conditions including physical safety, mental and medical health, environmental health, education and to decrease reliance on incarceration of lower-risk children in favor of community-based programming.  The case demonstrates what 35 years of tenacious advocacy and an innovative and collaborative approach to institutional reform, combined with vigorous court oversight, can do to improve the justice system.   

A 2022 Justice Potter Stewart Award is being presented to the three organizations that represented the Jerry M. plaintiffs over the years, and each honoree is being represented by one of the key lawyers who worked on the case: Elizabeth Alexander (formerly of the ACLU National Prison Project and now an independent prisoners'-rights practitioner); Jennifer Lanoff (formerly of the Public Defender Service for the District of Columbia); and Alan Pemberton (senior counsel at Covington & Burling LLP). 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

 About the Justice Potter Stewart Award ♦ Past Award Recipients


Copyright ©2011-2012 The Council for Court Excellence. All rights reserved.